Friday of Awesome!

Warning, this post contains unusual (for this blog) amounts of nerdiness, geeking and dorkisms.

Why is this the Friday of Awesome you ask?  Well, it’s because I have tomorrow off!  I guess technically that would mean every Friday is a Friday of Awesome.  I won’t argue with that.  I’ll just go with it.  I’m energized today.  Renewed my W.O.W. (World of Warcraft) subscription yesterday.  I have not played in so long that I’m ashamed to admit I had to call a friend just to ask how to chat.  Yep, it’s been THAT long.  It’s been such an abominably long time that my guild “flushed” me out as an inactive member ~cries~.  They would take me back if I asked, but I thought…hey! This is the perfect time for me to get out there and have a whole new start.  So I immediately got recruited to a guild who seem really nice.  They haven’t made fun of me yet, but I’m not raiding…just low level.  Like less than 30.  I was so excited to play W.O.W. and had forgotten how much fun it was.  Seriously, if you have never tried it, they sometimes have free trials.  Totally worth checking out. You have a whole world of people to interact with and it’s so invigorating.

I know this seems a bit off the topic of writing, and yes I do this a lot, but it does relate in weird obscure ways.  Really, it does.  You see, it is one of my hobbies or at least will be for a month or more.  As writers (or just anyone, really) hobbies are important.  I don’t really believe in writer’s block (which I’ve talked about before here: https://crampedwriting.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/why-i-dont-believe-in-writers-block/) because I believe it is just your subconscious telling you that you need some sort of diversion or redirection.  Sometimes your brain is telling you to back off, let go of the neurotic obsession with your plot, and give yourself a creative outlet.  Kind of like being on overload where writing is concerned.  If you don’t pay attention to the gentle nudge of your pysche, that’s when you eventually find yourself staring at a blank screen (or sheet of paper), eyes red-rimmed and sunken.  The good news though, is that if we train ourselves to listen to the restlessness we feel, it can often lead to increased creativity…which is of course, always a good thing! Hobbies are the perfect way to redirect your focus for a time, so they should not be neglected.

Hobbies aren’t the only way to shake yourself out of writing (or any kind) of doldrums.  Yesterday (speaking of which, before I continue I must digress) -I wasn’t feeling well Wednesday so I posted Wednesday’s blog yesterday- I decided to indulge my whim for different coffee ( see yesterday’s post here: https://crampedwriting.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/coffee-and-other-randomness/)

I tried Caribou Coffee Kenya (I think that is what it is called).  Yummy!!  It was just what I needed to start off my morning and my little programmable coffeepot woke me with the most tempting aroma.  Such a happy sound too.  I got bunches of tiny little coffee flavors in addition to the Caribou Coffee.  Now, I just have to add chocolate and I’m all set!!

Well, I’m off to conquer Friday and counting down the minutes until I get to log back into W.O.W. and find a stupid forge.  I wonder if frustration negates the benefits of a hobby?  I’ll have to think about that, probably after I’ve pulled out a few fistfuls of hair first.

Have a stupendous, felicitous Friday people!….Oh felicitous Friday.  I like that.  Maybe I should make it a “thing”.  I’ll have to think about that too.

Okay, I’m getting too many things to think about now so I’m going to say bye!

Scrawl Something

