No Such Thing as Being Lost (or Getting off the Hamster Wheel)

Today I was not very productive, at least I haven’t been very productive so far.  The day is not officially over yet, so I should perhaps, avoid a permanent declaration on that subject.

 I was able to spend time with my family which was a wonderful blessing.  Now that I am back home, snug in one of my “thinking” chairs sipping a cup of coffee (finally…it’s my first cup of the day!), I’m reminded of a conversation I had with a co-worker a few weeks before I left.

 We were joking around and my coworker commented that I might get lost, ( I honestly don’t remember the exact context so I apologize) and I cheekily responded that I am never lost because wherever I am must be where I should be.  Yes, I realize this is a bit convoluted, however, as soon as it popped out of my mouth a little light bulb flickered.  I’m sure there was a little light hanging over my head.  Maybe.

When I really analyzed what had just popped out of my mouth, (I have a tendency to be stubborn in case you hadn’t noticed) I realized that as a philosophy for life, that could be entirely correct.  I don’t know why, but it gave me a huge sense of peace.  So often we can feel like the little hamster running on the hamster wheel, giving 110% (of course figuratively speaking), yet going nowhere and seemingly no closer to the end goal.  I know I have felt this way many times in my life.  It can be difficult to see any light at the end of the tunnel, and I must admit there have been a few times when I thought bitterly that the light must be an oncoming train.

Here I was, standing in the middle of a row of cubicles giving my usual cheeky responses and having an epiphany among the sea of drab grays and beiges.  I had hoped an epiphany would come somewhere a little more colorful, but you can’t have everything I guess.

I cannot ever be lost, because that would imply that I misplaced myself.  Since there is only one of me and I am contained in the same unit, I cannot misplace myself as though I were a pair of glasses.  So I truly literally cannot be lost in that sense, which means wherever I am, I am supposed to be.  In the physical sense I love this.  One of my favorite things to do is hop into a vehicle and take a long drive, spontaneously choosing roads or exits which I have not been to before.  Whenever there are others with me, they will say, “we’re lost”.  That depends entirely upon your point of view I guess.  For me, I was there and so I could not be lost.  I’ve had this philosophy for a long time, but simply didn’t recognize it in such a way as to verbalize it.

This especially pertains to me on a metaphysical level.  I can run indefinitely like the hamster on the hamster wheel, going nowhere fast. My other choice is to get off the ride and explore my surroundings, appreciating everything and finding out what I can do in those moments.  This will be excellent timely advice for me during this journey.  There are always hiccups along the way.  My sewing machine broke, the scarves I’m crocheting will take longer than anticipated, I don’t have as much time to write as I thought I would and other such nonsense.  I can run around having fits and bemoaning the situation, I can pick up the pieces and carry on or change my scenery.  I have choices, but ultimately I have to remind myself that wherever I am in life is where I’m supposed to be.  There is something I’m supposed to do, learn, explore or someone to assist.  My mission, should I choose to accept it, is to try and figure out what I’m supposed to get out of the here-and-now.

Wherever I am, is where I am supposed to be; I am never lost. 

This sentiment also comes in handy during those road-trips where the GPS is not properly up-to-date or up-to-speed.  For those who still use maps, it is also a great thought to remember.  When anyone questions your sense of direction, just tell them, “Wherever I am, is where I am supposed to be; I am never lost.”  Perhaps they will think it is profound, unless of course you drove the vehicle off the road or into an oversized puddle/lake. I’m pretty sure it won’t work in that case.

To everyone journeying, both physically and metaphysically, best of luck in deciding to get off the hamster wheel!

2 comments

Scrawl Something

