Wait, It’s Thanksgiving Already?!

There are times in a writer’s life, or any life for that matter, when things pile up.  This is one of those moments for me.  Schoolwork is piling up, writing for NaNoWriMo is not on target, had a few sewing setbacks (probably would be a millionaire right now if I had YouTubed it), and work proposals are taking longer than expected to submit.  That does not even include the pile of things on my to-do list which seems to grow even though I’m steadily checking many items off the list.  In all of the craziness, I didn’t realize it was Thanksgiving.  Someone told me late last week that it was going to be Thanksgiving this week. Apparently it still didn’t register because I realized today that Thanksgiving is tomorrow and I still don’t have a turkey.  ~bangs head on box of unassembled desk~

We have olives and stuffing.  What more could a person want?  Right?  ~nervous chuckle~ I’m really hoping that I can find a “fresh” turkey.  Every Thanksgiving in our family is very interesting.  My very first one that I hosted with much pride after moving out on my own, was not ready until 9 p.m. because the turkey was still relatively frozen.  We ended up eating the mashed potatoes and squash, along with the other trimmings and then waiting for the turkey.  It turned out delicious, but I still catch some flack.  There was another year in which we bought a turkey, then discovered the refrigerator was too small to hold the turkey.  We left it out for a day.  The turkey thawed, but when we took it out of the packaging for cooking, it was spoiled.  Luckily, my Grandmother had also brought a turkey since we were going to have quite a few people over.  We had purchased a bit of ham as well so we made due, but my Grandmother’s “cooked” turkey was actually still pink and had to go into the oven for a while.  Again, Thanksgiving was late in the afternoon.  At least the homemade rolls turned out okay.

Every year I say “I’m going to start cooking a few days beforehand”, and it never happens.  I guess I should have added “Thanksgiving” to my to-do list.  The last thing I want to do is go shopping again.  I’ve been trying to get everything in order for my self-employment endeavors and I feel as though I’ve run quite a few miles over the past few weeks.  4:30 a.m. is my new bedtime.  I have no idea how Thanksgiving will go this year, but I must confess that I am too tired to care.  I will be happy if I just get to have some non-work time with my family.  Maybe TV dinners isn’t such a bad idea…

Silver lining:  I’ve been too busy to experience any Thanksgiving Day preparation stress

No matter what your Thanksgiving Day is like (I do hope it’s better than mine at least), I wish you all many blessings and wonderful times with those who mean the most in your lives.

Scrawl Something

