Organization? Who Needs Organization?

I wish I could dispense some invaluable nugget of wisdom today, but alas I cannot. At the moment, I feel more like the Cat In The Hat trying to juggle too many things. I had a plan, and a few backup plans. Those never work. So really, I guess I pretty much feel I’m living a bad sitcom or predictable movie where everything falls apart right before it gets better. Perhaps that will really happen, and everything will click into place. Perhaps this is when Mr. Right will show up to save the day. *stifles laughter*. Ahem.

Back to reality. I love learning, in fact, one could probably say I am addicted to learning. This learning obviously needs to be accomplished all at the same time; well I feel that it needs to be accomplished at the same time. Naturally, there are not enough hours in the day for me to accomplish running my new businesses, learning other languages, practicing my new hobbies , setting up a website and customizing this WordPress one. Oh yeah, and homework. I can’t forget about the homework. I feel a little bit like a kid in a candy store, running amok through the internet trying to learn bunches of stuff while simultaneously growing a freelancer business. I have to admit that it’s sometimes difficult to focus on tasks in a particular order. Even putting my to-do list into my phone is not sufficient, there is just too much scrolling. Today I broke down and hand-wrote a to-do list. At least I get to cross things off once they’re complete. Just in case you are wondering, I did get some things crossed off. I’ve already crossed off about eleven items…out of twenty-eight. That’s not too bad, really.

Wish this is what my to-do list looked like
Wish this is what my to-do list looked like…

I should contemplate taping up my to-do list and treating it like a game of pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey. I would call it something like, “Extreme Task Completion”, or “Random Secret Missions”. That might make things a little too exciting though, so I’ll just stick with the traditional “list and scratch-off” method. Boring, I know. If I get anything cool completed though, I’ll have to let you know. I worked on a drawing of my character, Jane Windall, which didn’t turn out exactly as I hoped so I’ll be working on making the drawing better. Add graphic design to my list of things I want to learn. That list just keeps growing. Anyone else have that problem? At least it will give me a lot to tackle in the immediate future. I should probably get some New Year’s Resolutions, or at least a list of goals, cranked out pretty soon. Lots of little goals, or one big “push” goal? What do you do? What say you?

Okay, I think I’m going to go watch a movie.  Productive, right? 🙂

2 comments

  1. All too familiar with these symptoms. But more and more I come to believe there are two types of people – those who need to focus on one task at a time and handle things in a linear, systematic fashion; and those that need the variety of simultaneous projects, even though they can’t always handle the pressure.

    • I love your take on this. I would have to agree. I know that although it sometimes gets insanely crazy, if I don’t allow myself those other “detours”, I become a very cranky person. I have to have my to-do list, but then once I have it, I usually never complete it in order. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

Scrawl Something

