Tales of Awesome and Whatnot

I have a slight case of nerves.  As in nervousness.  Is it possible to be nervous over the internet?  Um yeah.  It is.  Cuz I am.  Why am I nervous?  Just pretend you asked even if you didn’t, okay?  It’ll make this a little bit easier on me.  I’m still sick, so if any of this sounds a bit off-kilter, just blame it on sick-brain syndrome.

Candace Knoebel is in my Nook.  No lies.  See, I have her book Born In Flames, in my Nook.  Uh, not trying to rhyme, I promise. Since I was trying to get another accelerated semester under my belt, I hadn’t had a lot of time to read the book.  I’d gotten about halfway through and had to put it down.  I don’t know about you, but I really hate putting books down.  You know how half the time you end up having to re-read it?  Nope, didn’t have to, because I remembered all the stuff.  It was like I just pushed pause on a movie and then came right back to it.  Pretty cool stuff.  Anyway, I digress.  So a few days ago I actually had time.  There was time off for Christmas, and then I got horrendously sick (on Christmas…yay for epic timing) which meant that I pretty much only had time for sneezing, coughing, drooling, sleeping and reading.  Not necessarily in that order.  So what did I do?  Well, I picked up Born In Flames to finish.  Like you couldn’t tell I was leading up to that, huh?  This is why I don’t write mystery.  It’s just not a surprise.  My nickname is Captain Obvious.

Here’s the weird part, and this is how I know Candace Knoebel is in my Nook:  I finished the book and a few days later, she nominated me for a Blog of the Year award!! I’m not going to say much about the book because I’m afraid I’ll start rambling and give everything away.  Suffice it to say that I have a feeling the fantasy genre, as it pertains to dragons, has a new *thing*.  It was a breath of fresh air to see a completely different concept in the fantasy realm.  Inspiring!  So when I saw that she commented on my blog, I thought… “Whoa, this is weird.  I just finished reading her book.”  Then when she nominated me for a Blog of the Year award, my next thought was, “But her blog is so much cooler than mine!”  So I may suffer a bit from blog envy.  Is that a thing?  I guess I just made it a thing, cuz I have it.  It’s like seeing the shiny toy in the store.  After that, I just felt awed and humbled and slightly panicked.  What am I going to say?  What do I do?  What if I mess it up?

Well I’m going to give this my best shot and we’ll see how it goes.

To the Candace Knoebel in my Nook…I know you’re watching me and I promise to be good this year.  Okay so she’s not  Santa, but it works right?

Obviously, a huge THANK YOU to Candace Knoebel for nominating my lil blog.  Be sure to check out her blog (I love the banner!!).

Just for safety’s sake I’m going to paste the rules here so I don’t accidentally mess something up.  Well, I’m going to paste it right after this.

I get to nominate blogs!

Here are the following nominations:

  1. Zen Scribbles –  She always has engaging, fresh, thought-provoking content
  2. Candace Knoebel – I love her quirky writing style, and the new “journal” from her characters is a brilliant idea
  3. The Living Notebook – Nuggets of wisdom crop up here frequently
  4. A Writer’s Journey – Lots of heart, attitude, and wisdom melded beautifully
  5. Michelle Proulx Official – love the writing style and engaging posts

The ‘rules’ for this award are simple:

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award – http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/   and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)

4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them

5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience

6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…

6 stars image

Yes – that’s right – there are stars to collect!

Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once – this award is different!

When you begin you will receive the ‘1 star’ award – and every time you are given the award by another blog – you can add another star!

There are a total of 6 stars to collect.

Which means that you can check out your favourite blogs – and even if they have already been given the award by someone else – you can still bestow it on them again and help them to reach the maximum 6 stars!

Blog of the Year Award 6 star jpeg

‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Badges

Here are the six badges for you to collect – you can either ‘swop’ your badge for the next one each time you are given the award – or even proudly display all six badges if you are lucky enough to be presented with the award six times!

Blog of the Year Award 1 star jpeg

~

Blog of the Year Award 2 star jpeg

~

Blog of the Year Award 3 star jpeg

~

Blog of the Year Award 4 star jpeg

~

Blog of the Year Award 5 star jpeg

~

Blog of the Year Award 6 star jpeg

I’m looking forward to next year to see what other blogs I come across.  There are a few new ones which I’m pretty sure will end up in my list of Blog of the Year winners.  Thank you for bearing with me and my ADD-like tendencies.  Now I have to go figure out what I’m going to do next year.  I have some goals to set, and a to-read booklist to finish.  It is extremely difficult right now to avoid the books on my list.  I keep trying to find other books to read in the meantime.  If you want to make a recommendation for my 2013 reading list just fill out the form at the end of my previous post “Less Than Stellar“.

Have an awesome day! Yeah I know it’s a Monday, but still, have an awesome day! 🙂

6 comments

Scrawl Something

