Inspiration and ‘The Year of Awesome’

Hey, it’s Wednesday and time for another slightly random post. I’ve been zapped by inspiration over the past week and if it’s even possible, I think I’m on overload. I can’t contain it all, and as a result it just leaks out before I’m able to trap it and put it on paper. Last night I did something different. I dragged out my Bristol board and drew something with the intent to paint it later. I can visualize for the most part how I want it to look when I’m done. It will most likely not look anything the way I intend, but I’m still excited. I haven’t painted anything since my last (and only) art class since middle school. I don’t know how much I remember, but the class was really intense and I guess part of me misses it. Unfortunately I didn’t have a good place to store my brushes so they aren’t usable which means I have to get new brushes before I can paint my picture. I’m a little saddened, but it’s okay. I’m still excited, because I have a plan.

This seems completely random, but it’s related to my main driving force in life at the moment. I’m trying to find ways to combine things I can do with helping others. I have to accept that I won’t win the lottery (I heard one must buy tickets first) so that I can spread the wealth, but I make some crafts. Sometimes the crafts themselves can be useful, other times not so much. If this painting turns out even halfway decent, I hit upon the idea of putting it up for “auction” on ebay. I want to give 20% of the sale price (much better than 20% of the profit) to a local charity that helps families (mainly young teens) who are struggling with supporting a new baby. If you have kids of your own you know how costly formula and diapers are, and others costs just seem to snowball from there. I really believe that anyone can make a difference, it doesn’t need to be grandiose, and I might only be able to give a few dollars but it will all add up. It’s a few jars of baby food, or perhaps a bottle. I don’t want to ignore the little bit I can do because I feel it is unworthy. That’s exactly the kind of thinking that has kept me from helping others at all in the past.

I sometimes tell myself “go big, or go home”, but it’s not always that easy. A lot of baby steps (no pun intended) will also get you to the finish line. My little bit won’t save the world, but it can help if it can be added to a lot of people’s contributions. If I want 2013 to be ‘The Year of Awesome”, then I have to make it that. I’m going to take baby steps. So far, I’m working on just the one painting. I hope to do many more and to give 20% on the sale of each painting to a local charity. Since I make blankets, I also (at first) want to donate a blanket for every 10 blankets I sell. I’m hoping eventually I’ll be able to donate a blanket for every five blankets I sell, but a slow start is always better than no start at all. There’s a lot of need in the world, and even my measly little contributions will help. I have to remember that it’s not the amount of the gift, but the motivation behind it. I’m hoping that once I publish a book I’ll be able to work out some donations from some of the profits as well. It’s exciting to think about and I know that I will have a sense of satisfaction knowing that I’m at least doing a few little things to try and help others. So, wish me luck with the painting…I can use all the help I can get since it’s been such a long time since I last painted. If you all have ideas about making 2013 ‘The Year of Awesome’ please feel free to share. I’m always up for new ideas!

Scrawl Something

