Good Morning!

Hey everyone! Sorry this is a little bit later than normal but I just realized what time it was and that I got nothin’. Yep. I was going to color the manga picture that I had people vote on. Blue and green were tied so I had someone flip a coin and green came out the winner. So today, I’m talking about obstacles and dreams.

It is so easy to sit back and give up for a variety of reasons, or to say “it wasn’t meant to be”. I’m going to go out on a limb from my own personal experiences and say a lot of times that it is our way of acknowledging that we don’t truly want something. For example, let’s say you want to be a “dancer”. You might be one of those “lucky” people who were born into a family with enough money for lessons, had the right genetics that gave you what some refer to as a “dancer’s figure”, and you land your dream. What about other people though? The ones who don’t have the “right” body type, aren’t coordinated, or come from the “poor” side of town? You better believe some of those people have achieved their dreams. Fine. So you don’t have money for lessons. Fine, so you don’t have the ideal body type. People who get their dreams know for sure what they want. I always hated it when people asked me what I wanted to do with my life, as if there were only one thing I could ever do. What a stupid question, unless they’re willing to sit around and talk to me for a couple of hours where I tell them what I want to contribute, and what I desire to get out of life.

I think one of the most damaging things society did for me was to give me the impression that I had to pick the one perfect career for me. I had to pick one that I could do well, that made enough money, that would be stable and withstand economic shifts, and I should like it as well. For various reasons I ended up changing my major five times. I’ll finally be graduating this year (God willing) and I realized that this was the ONE thing that I couldn’t not do. That probably doesn’t make any sense. I can’t NOT write. I write all the time, whether it is poetry, songs, or stories. I wanted this too badly to fail. And while we’re talking about failure…let me just point out that it’s only failure if you QUIT. If you keep going until you succeed…then how can you fail? See? It’s not possible. You do something however long it takes for you to succeed. Just because you’re not a success overnight doesn’t mean you’ll never be one. If someone tries to tell you that’s how it works, just don’t listen. There are people in the world who expect that things should come easily and quickly, and that you’ll always fail because you have for the past 2,5,10 or 20 years. What’s it to them anyhow? It’s YOUR dream, not theirs, and if you’re willing to dust yourself off for the millionth time, plus one for you.

Just for the record I DID want to be a dancer and a great many other things. Right now I’m pursuing my writing dream. I know people will think I am too old to dance professionally and I don’t expect to, but I WILL dance because it is in my heart. Kind of like singing. I love to sing and I don’t care if it doesn’t sound good, it is because I have too much joy and I need to let it out. Sometimes it’s because I have too much heartache and I need to remember something good. I can do those things whenever I want, regardless of what people say. I felt that I needed a degree for writing to help me get to my ultimate destination. So, here I am. This was the thing I could not live without and if it meant finishing my degree, that’s what I’m willing to do. If any of you are pursuing a dream, or evaluating your life and trying to figure out what to do about your dreams, I sincerely wish you the best. It’s a tough road, but I once heard that obstacles are simply put in front of us so that we know how badly we want something. It took me a while to realize that it was true for me, and that I just had to find the things I couldn’t live without. It didn’t have to be just one thing either. There’s nothing that says you can’t have multiple degrees, change careers or maybe even find a unique way to merge a few different degrees into a completely new career. I also heard once that if you just do what you love MOST, the rest will fall into place because your passion will carry you to success. I believe. It took me a long time to reach out and grasp that wholeheartedly, but I definitely believe. Now I’ve gone completely off topic so I’m just going to summarize. While coloring my picture I ran out of two pivotal inks and the refills have to be purchased online and only come through the mail. So…to be continued.

Hope you all have a fantastic Monday, sorry this is so long but maybe my weird rambling helped in some way. Until next time!

Scrawl Something

