Giving Great Advice

You know what is so bizarre? It’s easy to give advice to others and then it’s so much more difficult to take that advice and do it yourself. I think that’s why we have friends; so they can regurgitate our advice back to us when necessary. Okay, well that’s obviously not the only reason why we have friends, but I think it is a part of friendship.

You can have the greatest advice on the planet, but sometimes you just need someone to remind you that you KNOW what you should do. It’s sometimes just the impetus you need to get on track. I have to tell you that one of the reasons I like to write articles is that I do some research, and write about stuff that reminds me of advice I’ve given to people who were once in my position. It’s always easier said than done, but the reality of it is that if you don’t try to take your own advice nothing will change. If you’re in a position where you need advice, then it means something isn’t going the way you want it to, or you just desire a change. Either way, you have to choose a course of action or you’ll be stuck in the same situation interminably. I’m betting that doesn’t sound very good. I’m curious if you were to pretend that you were giving advice to your friend, if you’d be more likely to take your own advice. It would probably be difficult to test that theory. I know that I’m more likely to recognize my need for my own advice if I’m helping a friend through a similar situation that I’m currently going through. It doesn’t always help, but recognizing that I’m in a similar position is a step in the right direction. It takes time to determine the source of restlessness and discontent and then even longer to figure out what the options are. At least, that’s how it works a lot of the time for me.

I’m constantly thinking, but maybe if I pretended it was a friend, it would give me the distance I need in order to look at the problems from a different point of view. Even if I don’t like the answer I give myself, it at least gives me something to compare with the alternative and I have a choice to make. Being able to choose between two options, even two crappy options, gives me a little freedom and the ability to determine my course rather than have it thrust upon me. Well, I have a lot of thinking to do so I’m going to leave my random ramblings and perhaps make a few lists. How was this for a completely pointless blog post, eh? ~shrug~

Oh well, it’s my brain and sadly it probably makes more sense in writing than it does verbally. I haven’t slept in a while so I’m going to try that and see if I make more sense when I wake up.

Scrawl Something

