Starting the New Year Overwhelmed

My brain is overwhelmed right now. Fried. Toast. Out of commission. The term is irrelevant no matter how you look at it, I am starting the new year in a serious mental slump. I wouldn’t exactly call that a stellar beginning to a new year.

What should I do?

I know that I need to plow forward resolutely, but in what direction? I thought I had written my JuNoWriMo stuff in iCloud, but after I lost patience with my laptop and formatted the hard drive I discovered (a little too late) that I had not done that. So a completed first draft of a children’s book, nearly 50,000 words, simply disappeared.

It’s my own fault, and as much as we can say “back up your work”, the reality is that we aren’t going to do that every single time we write. Even after this, I’m not going to do it. Why? Because I don’t always have a USB drive handy. I will, however, be writing mostly in iCloud to help alleviate any similar catastrophes.

I was really looking forward to beginning the editing phase of this story, and I’m definitely going to rewrite it but I’m balking. Just the thought of trying to start all over again makes me feel like a ton of bricks is sitting on my chest.

There is something good out of this though: when I start the year like this, it can really only get better.

*knocks on wood*

At least, that is how I’m choosing to look at it. Besides, perhaps my new rewritten manuscript will turn out better than the original.

What do you guys do when you get into a slump or suffer a setback? Any tips or tricks to share in the comments? 

Scrawl Something

