Book Recommendation for Freelancers of All Types

There is a lot to learn when you attempt to become a freelancer, regardless of the specialty. I have been doing some freelance writing over the past couple years and have had to trudge my way through. It was like diving off a cliff without any idea of where I might land, or how far down the ground might be.

jumping off a cliff
Leaping into the unknown

Scary, huh?

I’ve learned a lot, and one of the things I love

about freelancing is that I am able to keep learning as I go. If I could be paid to be a perpetual student, I would. This is the next best thing for me, but you have to be paid, and preferably what you’re worth. That is one of the most difficult parts for a new freelancer.

I know there are many others out there who want, or perhaps need, a little more freedom in their lives and who want to try freelancing. If you’re like me, you did some searching on the internet only to find that there seems to be a lack of authoritative advice on the subject.

When I find something that I believe contains things that will help other freelancers succeed, I get excited. Those freelancers won’t need to stumble around blindly as much as I did if I can share a few things. So, today I have a book recommendation.

While this book is tailored mostly for writers, there is sound advice which can work for any specialty whether you are pursuing graphic design, writing, accounting or anything else. This book by Nancy Edmonds Hanson, How you can make $20,000 a year writing (no matter where you live)has already proven to be full of great ideas and honest truths.

Advice on freelancing
Great book on freelance writing

I am only on page 60 out of approx. 258 pages. The first 60 pages have enough solid information and advice to justify the purchase of this book. It was tricky to find, but the link above should take you inexpensive copies of the book.

First off, I will let you know that this book was originally written before the rise of the computer. Don’t let that fool you. The things she says apply today, and they are things I found out through trial and error. Substitute computer or laptop for the word “typewriter” and you’re pretty much set. It’s amazing how much, and yet how little the freelancing world has changed over the years.

Bob Bly is another great resource, but he specializes mostly in copywriting focused on sales for larger corporations. This book has the basics of what to expect and is a great place to begin. Read this book first before you move on to Bob Bly. You will have many of your basic questions answered, and possibly some questions that you didn’t even know you had.

You don’t need to flounder around as I did, or desperately accept a pittance to get your name out there. Just to be clear, the pittance I’m talking about is tantamount to a third-world wage. You can’t live on that in America. I will understand doing it for a while to get your name out there, a byline, or just plain experience but then move on quickly before you get stuck.

Paid a Pittance
Pittance for Pay

Bottom line: you need this book if you want to be a freelancer.

I get nothing from promoting this, or from you clicking the link. If I can help someone achieve a dream and save them precious time and stress, it is worth my time to write this post.

Scrawl Something

